Installing Spotify on Mint 17

I was really excited to see that Spotify has put out a “Linux Preview,” which means I can install Spotify on Linux without messing with Wine. When I was researching putting Spotify on my system, I can across an official blog entry that announced Spotify for Linux. I was a bit worried because the blog said that because they hadn’t gotten the ads to work, it was only available for paid subscriptions. However, I found that my free account would work as they have fixed the no-ads problem.

When first installing, I tried to follow the instructions listed on Spotify’s website. Unfortunately, this didn’t work at all. I tried a few times, each time getting an error that I couldn’t connect to the repo. I ended up having to do quite a bit of research and try a few different things. I finally got it to work on Linux Mint 17 MATE, and here’s how:

First, I added Spotify’s repo to my software sources. I went to the “Software Sources” program, under Administration in the Menu. From here I went to “Additional Repositories.”

In Additional Repositories, I clicked “+ Add a new repository…” and entered
deb http://repository.spotify.com stable non-free like this:

Once Spotify’s repo is added, the “Additional Repositories” tab of “Software Sources” should look like this:

After Spotify’s repo has been added, I entered a couple commands to install the software. The first command enters the repository’s key to unlock it. I entered this into the terminal:
sudo apt-key adv –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com –recv-keys 94558F59
Make sure you use the key 94558F59, there was another key but it was changed. This is the correct key as of this post.

Now that I was connected to the unlocked repo, I was able to install Spotify for Linux. I put this command in the terminal:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install spotify-client
Make sure to install spotify-client and not just spotify, this seems to be a spot that causes hang-ups.

After Spotify is installed, it should be stored under “Sound & Video” in the Menu. You have to log into your account, but a free account is fine. As you can see, the ads work fine.

I much prefer using a Linux program whenever possible instead of using Wine. It makes sense to support Linux by promoting programs for it. The more we ask for and use software like this, the more companies will make. Spotify’s Linux Preview works really well, I’m really not sure why they’re still calling it a “preview” as it’s very polished and smooth. After getting it to install, the program is easy to use. I prefer Banshee for listening to my library, but I like the radio stations I make and getting to listen to albums I haven’t (yet) bought.

If you’re using these instructions to install Spotify, be aware that I’ve only tried this on Mint 17 MATE. I’d assume it’d be the same for all the versions of Mint, except LMDE, which might be different. I think MATE, Cinnamon, KDE and Xfce pretty much use the same commands, but the look of the Software Sources program might be different.

This entry was posted in Experiences, Trails & Errors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

