Morrowind On Mint

Getting Morrowind to install on Linux Mint was surprisingly easy. Morrowind is my favorite game of all time. The story is so expansive that there’s no way I could get bored of it.

Through the software manager, I was able to install both Wine and Play on Linux.

Wine is a program that lets me install Windows software onto my Linux system. Play On Linux is a GUI that will install the software and any additional components the software needs, like DirectX.

Setting up Morrowind using Play on Linux was super easy. Since Morrowind is one of the games someone else has set up, I simply had to choose Morrowind from the Install Menu. By choosing this instead of a manual install, I don’t have to figure out how to configure Wine or which components I need to run the software.

I simply chose the option for “The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind,” inserted my game disk, and followed the instructions for installation. I didn’t run into any problems during installation.

Once the game is installed, to play it I put in my disk, open Play on Linux, and choose to run Morrowind.

The game runs really well. The graphics & speed is much better than it was when I was using Vista or XP. It’s very smooth feeling, I don’t really have to wait for loading like I used to.

Some of the games I want to add aren’t listed in Play On Linux’s install menu. To get these games to play, I’ll have to manually install them, configuring Wine myself and choosing which components I need. I’m hoping this won’t be too difficult, I’d like to put all my Windows games on my Mint system if I can.

This is very important to me, as it turns out my other PC, which is running Windows 8.1, isn’t compatible with at least half of my games. This is a huge disappointment: that PC was specifically purchased for gaming. Also, while I use a computer for lots of things, the rest of my household mainly use PCs for games. It’s looking like I’ll have to do a lot of work to get my games to play on my Windows PC. I’ll either have to try using an XP emulator for Windows, or dual boot with Linux and use Wine. But it really seems to me that if I’m having to put in as much (if not more) work to get a program to run on Windows, why keep it? I might as well do the work running Linux and get the added benefits of security, performance and control.

This entry was posted in Experiences, Programs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

