Distros Galore

I’ve had an incredibly busy week. Besides continuing my work with Ruby and commands, I’ve also been having a ton of fun trying out different distros. I’m currently running Mint 16, which is not a LTS release. I’ve got a few weeks before it’s obsolete. While I’m waiting for the LTS of Mint 17, I decided to try out different distros and desktop environments. So far, I’ve just been checking compatibility.

I’m debating whether or not to switch to Xfce. Since my laptop is older, it might run better. I like KDE, both how it looks and the native programs. I’ve seen in the forums people saying that KDE can be configured to be as light as Xfce, so I’m going to research that a bit more. If KDE will run fast, I would like that to be my primary desktop environment. I do still have more flavors to try, so I might end up changing my mind entirely šŸ™‚

I’m also thinking that I will make a couple bootable USBs (I’m using DVDs atm) that I can use to learn the different distros without having to set up a dual-boot. Fedora will run now that I have the correct version of it, so I’d like to learn the differences. So far, Mint is still my favorite distro. I’ve tried both Ubuntu and Fedora now, and I’m planning on trying openSUSE later today or tomorrow.

I haven’t tried Debian or any Debian based distros. I have read that Debian isn’t great for beginners. I think it would be great to try once I’m more comfortable on Linux. I’d like to get the testing updates and be able to help fix problems. I also checked out Slackware, but something about it seemed intimidating. So that might be one to come back to in a few months.

So far my least favorite is Ubuntu with its default desktop environment (I think called Unity). It seems slower than all the other flavors I’ve tried. It is pretty & sophisticated looking, but there’s something about it that just felt “off” to me.

I’m really loving all the choices I have with Linux. There’s so many distros and desktop environments to try out. Before switching to Linux, I never thought of trying out different OS just for fun. Now, popping in a live DVD or USB is as easy as changing my screen saver. To me, having the ability to change something so big so easily is amazing.

This entry was posted in Comparison, Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Distros Galore

  1. Apparently, there is a new desktop out there based on an official merger between LXDE and razorQt, both designed to be light weight, but I can not remember what it is called.

  2. Val says:

    Thanks for the info! I think it’s called LXDE-Qt. I dunno if I’ve tried it, if that’s the DE for Lubuntu 14 I did, if not I haven’t. šŸ™‚ There’s so many that sometimes it’s hard to keep track.
    I saw some screen shots of another one, I think it’s called “Enlightenment,” it looked pretty cool too. I also saw SOAS which looked great for kids, I think it’s a great idea to give kids their own portable computer by having their own OS on a USB.

Leave a Reply

